

Student Researchers United / UAW 4900 Shattuck Ave P.O. Box 22900 Oakland, CA 94609

Via Electronic Mail

Dear UC Riverside Chancellor Kim Wilcox,

This week, the California Public Employment Relations Board (PERB) verified that a majority of UC Student Researchers – Graduate Student Researchers, Graduate Student Research Assistants, Trainees, and Fellows – across all 10 UC campuses and LBL have signed authorization cards to form a union, Student Researchers United/UAW.

We, the undersigned, are Student Researchers representing departments across UC Riverside with SRs. We have formed a union with our colleagues across the state in order to negotiate as equals with UC over improvements to our working conditions.

Given that PERB has verified majority support of Student Researchers, we expect the UC administration will promptly recognize our union and bargain a first contract. We see the prospect of swiftly negotiating a first collective bargaining agreement as an important opportunity to make UC an even better research University. We look forward to channeling the tremendous creativity and energy of thousands of our colleagues toward that end by sitting down together at the negotiation table without delay.

If you have questions, or would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at: sruuaw@sruuaw.org.

Sincerely,

Kevin Frausto, GSR, Biochemistry Alison Mills, GSR, Biochemistry Rachael Hamby, Plants3D NRT Fellow, Biochemistry Lisa Salmeron, GSR, Bioengineering Shabnam Etemadi, GSR, Bioengineering Ogadinma Okakpu, GSR, Biomedicine Keziah Yisrael, GSR, Biomedicine Rogelio Nunez-flores, GSR, Biomedicine Rebecca Ruggiero, GSR, Biomedicine Somchate Wasantwisut, GSR, Chemical and Environmental Engineering Christos Stamatis, GSR, Chemical and Environmental Engineering Soham Shah, GSR, Chemical and Environmental Engineering Aida Tafrishi, GSR, Chemical and Environmental Engineering Craig Sheldon, GSR, Chemistry Johan Yapo, GSR, Chemistry Alex Lambert, GSR, Chemistry Frantzeska Giginis, GSR, Cell, Molecular, and Developmental Biology Samatha Vancs, GSR, Cell, Molecular, and Developmental Biology Jordan Lillibridge, GSR, Cell, Molecular, and Developmental Biology Ravdeep Singh, GSR, Computer Science and Engineering Andres Calderon, GSR, Computer Science and Engineering Marcus Chow, GSR, Computer Science and Engineering Elisabeth Giem, NICE Fellowship, Computer Science and Engineering Chenyi Hung, GSR, Earth and Planetary Science Christopher John Tino, GSR, Earth and Planetary Science Kuntal Chaudhuri, GSR, Earth and Planetary Science Jessica Mercado Anazagasty, GSR, Education Jared Anderson-Huxley, GSR, Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology Yuwei Cui, GSR, Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology Farzana Kabir, GSR, Electrical Engineering Subhajit Ghosh, GSR, Electrical Engineering Akash Gupta, GSR, Electrical Engineering Mari West, NICE Fellowship, Entomology Genesis Chong, GSR, Entomology Aral Greene, GSR, Environmental Sci Valerie Carranza, NSF Fellow, Environmental Sci Benjamin Maki, GSR, Environmental Tox Stefani Michele Andrews, GSR, Environmental Tox Claudia Christine Escobar Avila, GSR, Environmental Science Alex Navarro, GSR, Genetics, Genomics, and Bioinformatics Hannah Freund, GSR, Genetics, Genomics, and Bioinformatics Melina Fuentes-Garcia, GSR, Materials Science Marcus Asaro, GSR, Materials Science Erik Sease, GAAN Fellow, Materials Science Ranga Thiruvenkatachari, GSR, Mechanical Engineering Shuonan Chen, GSR, Mechanical Engineering Hannah Shulman, Fellow, Microbiology Tania Kurbessoian, GSR, Microbiology Dylan Enright, NSF-GRFP, Microbiology Angela Porter, GSR, Microbiology Manali Dey, GSR, Neuroscience Jordan Donohue, GSR, Neuroscience Ming-Feng Ho, GSR, Physics Mahdi Qezlou, Fellow, Physics Holly Christenson, GRFP, Physics Meg Kargul, GRFP, Plant Biology Stephanie Piper, GSR, Plant Biology Martha Fabiola Pulido-chavez, GSR, Plant Pathology Gabriel Ortiz, GSR, Plant Pathology Krithiga Aruljothi, GSR, Psychology

Dulce Wilkinson, GSR, Psychology Christopher Drozd, GSR, Microbiology & Plant Pathology Brooke B. Rose, GSR, Botany and Plant Sciences

СС

Elizabeth Watkins, Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor Rodolfo H. Torres, Vice Chancellor for Research & Economic Development Daniel R. Jeske, Vice Provost for Academic Personnel Michael Drake, UC President Michael Brown, UC Provost Letitia Silas, UC Labor Relations Executive Director Nadine Fishel, UC Labor Relations Associate Director Peter Nguyen, UC Labor Relations Associate Director