



Student Researchers United / UAW 4900 Shattuck Ave P.O. Box 22900 Oakland, CA 94609

Via Electronic Mail

Dear UC San Diego Chancellor Pradeep Khosla,

This week, the California Public Employment Relations Board (PERB) verified that a majority of UC Student Researchers – Graduate Student Researchers, Graduate Student Research Assistants, Trainees, and Fellows – across all 10 UC campuses and LBL have signed authorization cards to form a union, Student Researchers United/UAW.

We, the undersigned, are Student Researchers representing departments across UC San Diego with SRs. We have formed a union with our colleagues across the state in order to negotiate as equals with UC over improvements to our working conditions.

Given that PERB has verified majority support of Student Researchers, we expect the UC administration will promptly recognize our union and bargain a first contract. We see the prospect of swiftly negotiating a first collective bargaining agreement as an important opportunity to make UC an even better research University. We look forward to channeling the tremendous creativity and energy of thousands of our colleagues toward that end by sitting down together at the negotiation table without delay.

If you have questions, or would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at: sruuaw@sruuaw.org.

Sincerely,

Tiffany Zhou, Bioengineering, NSF GRFP
Clara Posner, Bioengineering, GSR
Josh Mesfin, Bioengineering, Trainee
Jervaughn Hunter, Bioengineering, Trainee
Joe Solvason, Bioinformatics and Systems Biology, Trainee
Maya Gosztyla, Biomedical Sciences, NSF GRFP
Beril Polat, Chemical Engineering, GSR
Ximena Garcia Arceo, Chemistry & Biochemistry, GSR
Christopher J. Miller, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Fellow
Aashish Shivkumar, Chemistry & Biochemistry, GSR
Nicole Torquato, Chemistry & Biochemistry, NSF GRFP
Mallory Evanoff, Chemistry & Biochemistry, GSR
Kuei Da Liao, Cognitive Science, GSR

Pamela D Riviere, Cognitive Science, NSF GRFP

Udayan Tandon, Computer Science & Engineering, GSR

Tristan Knoth, Computer Science & Engineering, GSR

Liv Songster, Division of Biological Sciences, NSF GRFP

Jasmin Revanna, Division of Biological Sciences, NSF GRFP

Haoming (Howard) Wang, Division of Biological Sciences, GSR

Rhea Comfort-Addo, Division of Biological Sciences, NSF GRFP

Angela Gu, Economics, GSR

Yan Jiang, Education Studies, GSR

Xinyu Chen, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR

Corentin Pochet, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR

Florian Richter, Electrical & Computer Engineering, NSF GRFP

Aditya Arun, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR

Pulak Sarangi, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR

Raghav Vaidyanathan Subbaraman, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR

Chi-Hsin Huang, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR

Louis Pisha, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR

Tory Sampson, Linguistics, NSF GRFP Fellow

Melissa Vipperman-Cohen, Literature, GSR

Ashley Cronk, Materials Science and Engineering, NSF GRFP

Jennifer Fromm, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, NSF GRFP Fellow

Aditya Vasan, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, GSR

Emily Lathrop, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, NSF GRFP Fellow

Paul Glick, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, NASA Space Technology Research Fellow

Michael Ishida, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, NDSEG Fellowship

Doug Osmun, Music, GSR

Maya Holay, Nanoengineering, NSF GRFP

Guillermo Esparza, Nanoengineering, GSR

Emily Baltz, Neurosciences, NSF GRFP Fellow

Sammi Sison, Neurosciences, NSF GRFP Fellow

Grace Padilla, Neurosciences, Trainee

Brianna Marsh, Neurosciences, NSF GRFP Fellow

Christian Cazares, Neurosciences, GSR

Maribel Patino, Neurosciences, GSR

Alexander Bevier, Physics & Biophysics, Trainee

Zubenelgenubi Scott, Physics & Biophysics, GSR

Clarissa Rizzo Credidio Do O, Physics & Biophysics, NSF GRFP Fellow

Ahmed Akhtar, Physics & Biophysics, GSR

Peter Kim, Physics & Biophysics, GSR

Kyle Kehrer, Physics & Biophysics, GSR

Maxwell Poore, Physics & Biophysics, GSR

Robin Glefke, Physics & Biophysics, NSF GRFP Fellow

Elizabeth Lapidow, Psychology, NDSEG Fellow

Jackie Andrzejewski, Public Health, Trainee

Lara Schwarz, Public Health, GSR

Benjamin Klempay, Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Biological Oceanography, GSR

Amrit Bal, Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Geophysics, NSF GRFP Fellow

Marina McCowin, Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Marine Biology, GSR

Taylor Herndandez, Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Applied Ocean Sciences, GSR

Kate Bauman, Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Marine Biology, NIH F31 Fellow and GSR

Luke Kachelein, Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Physical Oceanography, NASA FINESST

Recipient

Sarah Ogle, Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Climate Science, GSR

Ana Lopez-Ricoy, Sociology, GSR

Karina Shklyan, Sociology, GSR

Brian Yamashiro, Structural Engineering, GSR

Alison Urban, Theatre and Dance, GSR

Junior Nyong'o, Theatre and Dance, GSR

Joe Riley, Visual Arts, GSR

CC

James Soto Antony, UCSD Dean of the Graduate Division
Elizabeth H. Simmons, UCSD Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Sandra A. Brown, UCSD Vice Chancellor for Research
Michael Drake, UC President
Michael Brown, UC Provost
Letitia Silas, UC Labor Relations Executive Director

Nadine Fishel, UC Labor Relations Associate Director Peter Nguyen, UC Labor Relations Associate Director