



Student Researchers United / UAW 4900 Shattuck Ave P.O. Box 22900 Oakland, CA 94609

Via Electronic Mail

Dear UC Santa Barbara Chancellor Henry Yang,

This week, the California Public Employment Relations Board (PERB) verified that a majority of UC Student Researchers – Graduate Student Researchers, Graduate Student Research Assistants, Trainees, and Fellows – across all 10 UC campuses and LBL have signed authorization cards to form a union, Student Researchers United/UAW.

We, the undersigned, are Student Researchers representing departments across UC Santa Barbara with SRs. We have formed a union with our colleagues across the state in order to negotiate as equals with UC over improvements to our working conditions.

Given that PERB has verified majority support of Student Researchers, we expect the UC administration will promptly recognize our union and bargain a first contract. We see the prospect of swiftly negotiating a first collective bargaining agreement as an important opportunity to make UC an even better research University. We look forward to channeling the tremendous creativity and energy of thousands of our colleagues toward that end by sitting down together at the negotiation table without delay.

If you have questions, or would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at: sruuaw@sruuaw.org.

Sincerely,

Markus Merk, Biomolecular Sciences and Engineering, GSR
Aimal Khankhel, Biomolecular Sciences and Engineering, GSR
lan Morgan, Biomolecular Sciences and Engineering, GSR
Robert McLaughlin, Computer Science, GSR
Angela Morales, Dynamical Neuroscience, GSR
Adrian Tasistro-Hart, Earth Science, GSR
Erin de Leon Sanchez, Ecology, Evolution, & Marine Biology, GSR
Kevin Smith, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR
Sharad Shankar, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR
Rebecca Martin, Electrical & Computer Engineering, GSR
Rachel Torres, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, GSR
Jacob Gellman, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management, GSR
Deanna Nash, Geography, NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowship

Kevin Varga, Geography, GSR

Luke Carberry, Interdepartmental Graduate Program of Marine Science, GSR

Nathalie Eegholm, Interdepartmental Graduate Program of Marine Science, GSR

Caroline Reilly, Materials, GSR

Jonas Kaufman, Materials, DOE CSGF

Micah Pendrick, Mathematics, GSR

Kerry Lane, Mechanical Engineering, GSR

Jamiree Harrison, Mechanical Engineering, GSR

Yuyang Wu, Chemistry & Biochemistry, GSR

Serena Seshadri, Chemistry & Biochemistry, GSR

Benjamin R. Luginbuhl, Chemistry & Biochemistry, GSR

Stejara Dinulescu, Media Arts & Technology, NSF GRFP

Shambhavi Singh, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, GSR

Ian Tayler, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, GSR

Gabrielle Abraham, Physics and Astronomy, GSR

Mark Arildsen, Physics and Astronomy, GSR

Noah Swimmer, Physics and Astronomy, GSR

Joshua Straub, Physics and Astronomy, GSR

CC

David Marshall, UCSB Executive Vice Chancellor
Leila Rupp, UCSB Interim Anne and Michael Towbes Graduate Dean
Michael Drake, UC President
Michael Brown, UC Provost
Letitia Silas, UC Labor Relations Executive Director
Nadine Fishel, UC Labor Relations Associate Director
Peter Nguyen, UC Labor Relations Associate Director